Slow to cook

Picture From BudgetBytes.com

Picture From BudgetBytes.com

I post a new blog basically anytime I cook something fun, and obviously it’s not that often. I’m trying to find new, delicious recipes that have enough leftovers to last me a while of lunches to pack for work. I found some great slow cooker recipes, and the first one I tried was this white chicken chili recipe that I found on the Budget Bytes blog.

It was harder to prepare than advertised, but that was due to that fact that 2 can-openers broke on me (what are the odds) and I didn’t know how to mince garlic… so those were just user errors. Once those issues were resolved, easy-peasy! Cooking raw meat freaks me out a little, so my favorite part of making slow cooker meals was that this was the easiest, most foolproof way to cook chicken. And it makes enough to last all week or share with friends!

The ingredients are as follows:

  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 jalapeño (optional)
  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast (about ¾ lb.)
  • 1 16oz. jar salsa verde
  • 2 15oz. cans cannellini beans
  • 1 15oz. can pinto beans
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper
  • ¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups chicken broth- I ended up adding a little more because a lot of the chicken broth boiled off. If you like less soupy chili, then leave as is.
  • 4 oz. Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded
  1. Put the diced onion, minced garlic, jalapeño, and chicken in the slow cooker.
  2. Drain and rinse the beans, then add the beans, salsa, cumin, oregano, cayenne, and freshly ground black pepper to the slow cooker.
  3. Pour 2 cups of chicken broth into the slow cookers and gently stir everything.
  4. Cook on high for 4 hours.
  5. When it’s finished, the chicken should be tender and easy to shred (if not, cook for another hour). Use two forks to shred the chicken.
  6. Top with Monterrey Jack cheese, and serve!

Do you have a favorite slow cooker meal that you make? I’d love to hear what it is- I’m in need of another one to try!

Leave a comment