You’re Either Feeding a Disease or Fighting It

feedingorfighting

I promise I don’t always take what I eat so seriously, BUT this is the foundation of what I want my blog to convey. A lot of people probably wouldn’t think about altering their diet until something was already wrong, but I think it’s a great idea to be a little more conscious of what you put into your body before anything wrong things happen. Think about all the incredible things your body does all the time- good nutrition will help it keep doing that for a long, long time.

I’ll be cooking some great recipes down the road that are thought to prevent certain illnesses and diseases, and let you know how it goes! But first I thought I’d share some great, natural food staples that are delicious and perfect to always have handy. Whole Living has a great list of nutritious foods to keep stocked, and you can also find recipes with some of these on their website. I’m pretty terrible at throwing together meals, so maybe you can do eeny meeny miny moe with a few of these ingredients and let me know how it goes.

Greens, Garlic, Onions, Citrus, Tomatoes, Mushrooms, Frozen fruit, Artichokes, Chile peppers, Fresh & Dried herbs, Spices, Nuts, Olive oil, Quinoa, Soba noodles, Legumes, Whole wheat pasta, Rice, Spelt, Mustard, Pomegranate Molasses, Olives, Vinegars, Breadcrumbs, Miso
Sea salt, Green tea, Hard cheese, Yogurt, Broth, Fish sauce, Wine, and Walnut, flaxseed, or pumpkin seed oil.

Other good foods to have for every occasion are power foods, or foods that have high nutritive value such as vitamins and antioxidants. You get a lot of bang for your buck with these foods!

Strawberries, Avocados, Artichokes, Pepper, Apricots, Tomatoes, Dark chocolate, Quinoa, Lentil
Fish, Apples, Kiwi, Eggs, Spinach, Grapefruit, Carrots, Kale, Sweet potatoes, and Broccoli.

Another good food tip to keep in mind, is what foods you should buy organic and what foods you don’t need to. You should especially buy organic fruits and vegetables if they have thin skins, because they absorb more of the pesticides that are sprayed on them. Some of the foods that you should consider buying organic are:

Apples, celery, cherries,  grapes, lettuce, nectarines, peaches, pears, potatoes, spinach, strawberries, and sweet bell peppers.

Since it’s National Eating Disorders Awareness week, I thought I’d also share a great blog post I found explaining how not eating enough or fasting for periods of time is bad for you. There are a ton of great resources on Nedawareness.org to help you, or help you help a friend.
Let me know if you have any other suggestions for nutritious food staples and recipes for them! Stay tuned for some of my cooking attempts!

One thought on “You’re Either Feeding a Disease or Fighting It

Leave a comment